Blogging is like… Whispering in Penn Station. Hard to be heard.

After a whole week of exhausting blogging, here are the Top 11 things I’ve learned thus far:

1. It’s a little like high school. You’re trying to find out what table you want to sit at for the day. The class clowns, the poets, the free-spirits, the literati, the dude you’re pretty sure has a dead body in the basement, the eager Freshman, or the Senior Class that have a gazillion followers that may or may not acknowledge your existence? Oh, choices, choices.

2. It’s time consuming. Who has time for this? My kids are begging me for dinner, eating out of the dog bowl, which is scary because we don’t have a dog. (Must pace myself.)

3. Positives: It gets the creative juices going. Forces you to write and strengthen your powers of observation. You cyber-meet some totally cool people. Some are hilarious. Some offer invaluable blog instructions. Others are full of such great writing and poems, it makes you mad words are so cheap.

4. You have to check your ego before opening your laptop. Stats-smats. Blogging is a marathon. Right now, I just put my foot in the race and already I need a cup of water.

5. I’m super chatty in written form! Blah, blah, blah, blah….

6. Less is more. You don’t want to be the crazy person in Times Square stringing words together like a bottomless pit of deranged magnetic poetry. Or maybe you do? They’re either deranged or a mad genius… Hmmm, that needs some investigating.

7. There’s a lot of people out there trying to hawk their books or something else. If I wanted to shop, I’d be at the mall. Note: I hate the mall.

8. I can’t figure out how to make a new tab or page, or whatever the hell it’s called. It makes me feel old. Especially since I hate Facebook and Twitter (God, that really is a stupid word. I’d like to contact the person who came up with “Twitter” and tell them I feel violated every time I use it.)

9. Why am I doing this again? Oh yeah, to desensitize the uncomfortable nature of writing. Also research. My character blogs, so I should have some idea about the whole thing.

10. Which brings me to another conclusion. My writing is all over the place. But I can’t stick with a shtick. Writing, for me, is freedom. Posts will run the gamut, from thoughtful to a tad crass.

11. (Cuz lists of 10 suck.) There’s a lot of shouting at people to get off their lawn (so to speak). Get your happy, people. Stop brooding or looking for validation. You’re followers can’t hug you. That would be totally creepy! And not in a good Stephen King way.

Conclusion: I’m a bit uncomfortable with this social medium, which means I’m growing. And that continues to be my main goal. Success for week one!

14 thoughts on “Blogging is like… Whispering in Penn Station. Hard to be heard.

  1. I feel your pain! lol I write and write & seems like some posts get attention and others get zero. Where do I belong? It is a tough road, but, keep going. You’ll soon find the right table to sit at!

  2. I think you just need to figure out the right place to whisper. Penn Station is a “modern” monstrosity. However, head on over to Grand Central and hit the Whispering Corners…you’ll be able to talk in whispers across a beautiful stone and marble alcove, and only you and your partner in whispering will hear you, crowds be damned! Keep searching for your place, and the winds will whisper right back to you. Love your blog!

    1. Hah! Yes, I’ve learned to pace myself. That first month was a blur. A year later and I’m still not sure where I’m going with this blog. 🙂 I see you are a fellow U of A alumna. I miss those Wildcat years… I look forward to reading your blog. I’m going to be checking those Trader Joe signs tomorrow when I go — make sure it’s hasn’t crossed state lines!

      1. I miss the desert. The last couple of years I lived there, I worked for IBM and lived in a house off Catalina Hwy at the foot of Mt. Lemon.

        I like what I’ve seen so far on your blog. You’ve got an eye for those telling details.

        Yes, gotta watch out for bad grammar viruses. 😀

  3. I just came upon this one from a while ago. I just want you to know that I am glad you continue. I love what you do here and hope it leads to bigger and better things for you.

Leave a Reply

