Looking Up

FullSizeRender

If I gave you the moon
It would be the one containing
Every sunrise and sunset
A blazing inferno
Of beginnings and endings
Intertwined and twisted
Lit lives
A gift of the moment
When all our heads are lifted
Our feet groundless
There is nothing wrong with
Having your head in the clouds
I say to you
Holding your small hand
Pale and light
While my own have ripped at the earth
Held the face of death and life
A complicated map of beautiful ugliness
If I gave you the clouds
I would weave them with purple lace
Swollen cumulus tufts of spun sugar
Cocoons to flourish in
Giving birth to dreamers
Like yourself
As I repeat to you
There is nothing wrong with
Having your head in the clouds
I will spend a lifetime
Looking up
Before I lay in the ground

FullSizeRender

S S Hicks

15 thoughts on “Looking Up

  1. I love this thought, DD. Looking up… And it was high time for a new poem – I was experiencing mild withdrawal symptoms! 🙂

Leave a Reply

