Summer Heirloom

FullSizeRender-50

In the pearls of water and sunlight,
Photosynthesis of breath,
I saw you
And
Your childhood
Enshrined in a lingering sky,
Joy placed upon your lips.

These days
When light beckons the sullen and the earth stuffs air
With ripe color and annual blooms,
Drapes you in wilderness,
A sap scented touch behind delicate lobes
Perfumed
To camouflage you with season.

Like you
I grew fins in chlorinated water,
Ran to the chimes of ice cream promises,
The slow drip of cream on chins,
The delayed grasp of sticky palms.

I tore my feet on cool decking,
Shredded suits in the Pacific,
Wore sand in the crevice of body,
Ears turning into shells, listening to
The ocean lap night into day.

I strung them around my neck,
Shelled necklaces adorning beach shops, tacky delights,
The days of blinding light.
Behind closed lids, floaters gliding along, skeletal worms
Crossing their fiery landscape,
Making sundials in sand,
Pondering the rotation of planets,
The scabs on my knees, the flight of bees,
Wearing smallness with no shame,
Beading days around my bronzed skin.

Wear it with care, My Love
And hold these jewels that string
Your childhood together.
These precious heirlooms passed to you —
The gift of vision
To see through
The changing seasons.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Summer Heirloom

  1. I’ve missed your words! Lovely poem – even here, where it rains every day it seems, somehow childhood summers are always full of sunshine in my memory.

    1. Thanks, FF! Good to be back, but I’m going to be hitting both coasts, avoiding Phoenix with its 120 degree days for as long as humanly possible. I’m going to return soon and wither!

  2. Missed you and your wonderful words. I definitely missed your images like
    “hold these jewels that string
    Your childhood together.”
    Great piece. It took me back to my own boyhood.

  3. I’ve missed your lovely words, DD — and your presence here! However, I realize AZ can be incredibly HOT this time of year, so I don’t fault you one bit for seeking a spot of water to soak your toes in. Happy, safe travels to you and yours!

  4. I must admit, looking back on my childhood, the most vivid memories always seem to have happened during the summer πŸ™‚ Another lovely, wonderful poem, DD – full of nostalgia and sweetness. What a treat! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

